Elastic Hurts

Mama warned me
About girls like you
She said I should protect my heart
That I will only reap hurt
From you

You lured me in
With your lucid eyes
That made my heart melt
With your voice
That made my loins tingle in lust

Lust is wicked
My mama said
It takes your head
And controls it
It knows no sense

Sense is for the weak
You said
You asked me to trust you
To ride this rollercoaster with you
Called love

Love is a beautiful thing
My mama said
Love cares
Love holds
Love grows
Love certainly does not break hearts

Hearts are elastic
You said
They never break
They take in all the compassion
And they grow warm
All the anguish
And they grow cold
But they never break

Break your heart she will
Mama watched me cry
The last time I fell
Desperately for someone like you
She told me
That I was too good
Too vulnerable
And easy to hurt
I should not fall for you

You are all I need
In my life
You said
I have existed
And not lived
Reckless love is all I need
To break from my too good persona

I believed you
I fell for you
Falling for you was easy
You looked at me
With those eyes
And a twinkle of mischief
And I felt whole
And reckless
I could do anything for you
You were perfect then
My perfect flawless half

Now I gaze into those eyes
And they are no longer dreamy
They stare coldly at me
And you tell me
That however much I tried
However much I gave of myself to you
I could never satisfy this version of you
I could never live up to you
And that the love you had for me
Was puppy love
And it ran out

Hearts never break
They are elastic
You lied
My heart broke
Into a thousand pieces
Mama was right
Girls like you
Only wreak havoc

Leave a comment